Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Charlotte Day Wilson - Find You

23-year-old Toronto-based singer/songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist Charlotte Day Wilson has today announced that she will release her much-anticipated 6-track debut EP titled CDW on August 26th. Along with the announcement, Charlotte has also shared her absolutely breathtaking and deeply personal new single entitled "Find You", which debuted on Zane Lowe's Beats 1 Radio show earlier today, followed by an online premiere via Complex. The EP will also feature her previously released singles, "Work" and "After All".

Speaking with Complex, Charlotte says:

"I spend every single day freaking out about who I am and what my identity is as a human being. I do think that pursuing a career in music has helped me be happy because music is what I want to be doing. In order to be in a healthy relationship you have to be content with doing what you want to be doing."

Listen to "Find You" below.

Charlotte Day Wilson has also announced that she will be supporting Local Natives on tour in September. Click here for dates and ticket info.

Pre-order Charlotte Day Wilson's debut EP on iTunes and get "Find You" instantly.

Wednesday Wrap-Up #20

1. BOA - "Pharaoh"

2. CADE - "Escape"

3. Declaire - "Tribe"

4. The Electric Sons - "Cool"

5. SIYYU - "Stop Us" (Extended)

Slow Shudder - Alkaline

Following on from the release of her debut single, "Call You Back", which garnered the attention of a handful of tastemaking music blogs such as Acid Stag, Crack In The Road and Indie Shuffle, not to mention was also featured in Spotify's Fresh Finds playlist, emerging Miami-born, London-based producer, DJ and vocalist Amanda Mayo, aka Slow Shudder returns today with her second single entitled "Alkaline", which merges hypnotic production and future beats and blends it together with intimate and emotive lyrics.

Listen to "Alkaline" as well as her cover of Chris Isaak's "Wicked Game" below.

Ofelia K - Killing Me

There's no denying that Los Angeles-based songstress Ofelia K is indeed among one our longtime favorites here at WS headquarters. Since releasing her debut EP, Plastic Flower back in November of last year, Ofelia K has continued to release a steady stream of compelling indie pop gems, from "Cinco" to "I Love My Lawyer" to now her new single entitled "Killing Me", which is yet another wistful and delicate offering that further showcases her knack for producing beautiful music with lyrics that fit somewhere between an unrepressed journal entry and a comforting arm around your shoulder.

Speaking about the track, Ofelia K. says:

"'Killing Me' is about the strange paradox that those who love you the most can also hurt you the most. Loving deeply makes you vulnerable and the highs and lows can be extreme."

Listen to "Killing Me" below.

"Killing Me" will be released on July 29th via South by Sea Music.

Premiere via Consequence of Sound.

Raphaella - Alien

London-based singer/songwriter and producer Raphaella has been remarkably busy in the studio this year, collaborating with a plethora of notable artists such as Rudimental, Gorgon City, MNEK, Wilkinson and NVOY. More recently, she's lent her vocal talents to bangers like Michael Calfan's "Thorns", Cardboard Foxes' "Freefall" and Midnight City's "Just Like That". However, today she returns to continue her prodigious personal output by unveiling her latest original single entitled "Alien". Written and produced by Raphaella herself, "Alien" is a cool, defiant and club-ready track that recalls some of the best summer dance music coming out of London at the moment.

Listen to "Alien" below.

"Alien" will be released on August 1st. Pre-order on iTunes.

Premiere via Complex.